SmartThings Support

Rooms in the SmartThings app

Rooms are the best way to group devices in the SmartThings app. You can use Rooms to separate your devices in one area of your home from another and minimize clutter if you have a large list of connected devices.

 

Create a new Room

After creating a Location in the SmartThings app and adding your smart devices, you can group those devices using Rooms. When you create a Room, you will be given a list of all of your connected devices, and the option to name the Room.

To create a Room in the SmartThings app:

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right
  5. Tap Add room
  6. Name your Room
  7. Select the devices that you would like to group
  8. Tap Save

 

View your Room

Your Rooms will be available by swiping left or right after tapping on the name of your Location or tapping on the Devices tab. There are two ways to access your Room from the Dashboard:

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Swipe right to find the Room

OR

  1. Tap the Location shortcut on the sliding carousel
  2. Swipe right to find the Room

 

Add or remove a device from an existing Room

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Swipe right to find the Room
  5. Tap the three dots in the top right
  6. Tap Edit
  7. Tap Manage devices
  8. Add or remove desired devices
  9. Tap Save
  10. Tap the back button to return to your Room

 

Rename a Room

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Swipe right to find the Room
  5. Tap the three dots in the top right
  6. Tap Edit
  7. Rename the Room

 

Delete a Room

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Swipe right to find the Room
  5. Tap the three dots in the top right
  6. Tap Edit
  7. Tap Delete Room
  8. Tap Delete to confirm

 

Get In Touch