SmartThings Support

Location sharing FAQ

How do I share my Location with another user?

Go here for instructions about how to send an invite, accept an invite, and remove a user.

 

Who can be invited to a Location?

In order to invite a user to share your Location, the shared user must meet the following conditions:

  • They have a Samsung account in the same region as you
  • They have accessed the SmartThings app before

If the shared user does not meet the above conditions, you may receive an error when attempting to share the Location.

If a user does not have a Samsung account associated with their email address, in order to access shared features, the new SmartThings user will have to create their own Samsung account and install the SmartThings app for Android or iOS. If a user has a Samsung account but has never opened the SmartThings app, they will need to open the SmartThings app and sign in.

 

What will added users have access to?

Shared users will have access to the Location that you choose to share with them. Users will have access to the same Location-level controls as the account owner: adding and deleting devices, configuring and removing Automations, editing Scenes, etc.

Shared users can also invite and remove new users, but cannot remove the Location owner or delete the Location.

 

Can I limit what an individual user has access to?

Shared users will only have access to the Location that you choose to share with them. You cannot limit what the user has access to within the Location.

 

Does Location sharing trickle down across multiple users?

No. For example: User A gives you access to Location A, of which User A is the owner. You are the owner of Location B. If you then share with User C, User C will have access to Location B, NOT Locations A and B.

 

Is Location sharing automatically mutual?

No. When you share your Location with a user, they will have access to your Location, but you will not have access to theirs. If that user wishes to share their Location with you, they must invite you as detailed here.

 

Does removing a user immediately revoke their access to my Location?

If sharing is removed while that user is logged in, they may still be able to view devices, Rooms, etc. However, the user will not get any updates from the cloud and cannot send any information to the cloud. Without the ability to send information to the cloud, they will NOT be able to control devices, edit Automations, delete Scenes, or make any other changes to your Location.

The previously shared Location will automatically disappear from the user's view shortly, or as soon as they log out.

 

Where can I view my Locations?

  1. From the Home screen, select Menu (Menu icon)
  2. Touch the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen

 

How do I set a phone as a mobile presence device?

When a user is added to a Location, they may wish to use their phone as a mobile presence device for that shared Location. Setting up a phone as a mobile presence device allows SmartThings to automatically perform certain actions when that person arrives or leaves. New SmartThings users will be prompted to give SmartThings access to their phone's location settings upon installing the SmartThings app. All users can also follow these instructions.