SmartThings Support

How do I factory reset my ADT Security Hub?

To completely redo your ADT Security Hub and SmartThings configuration and start from scratch, you can factory reset your ADT Security Hub by deleting the associated SmartThings Location and performing a reset on the ADT Security Hub panel with the steps below.

NOTE: Resetting the Hub will restore factory settings and will not cancel an ADT Professional Monitoring Service subscription should you be enrolled in one. All device connections, automations, rules, configurations, and SmartApps associated with that Hub will be lost in the reset. All devices connected to your Hub will have to be reset or excluded before they can be reconnected. The steps for resetting and reconnecting each device differ. After resetting, you can go here, find the devices you wish to set up, and follow the guides provided. Remember that you will likely need to reset or “exclude” every device before connecting them again.

Additionally, if you are enrolled in an ADT Professional Monitoring Service, you will need to cancel or update your subscription before resetting. (Note: If you cancel your ADT Professional Monitoring Service in the middle of a pay period, you will forfeit the remainder of the subscription.)

 

  • SmartThings app
  • SmartThings Classic app

1. Cancel ADT Professional Monitoring Services

In the SmartThings app:

  1. From the Dashboard, tap Home Security
  2. Tap Manage Account under Professional Monitoring Service
  3. Log in to your ADT account
  • If you'd like to temporarily cancel your Professional Monitoring Service:
    1. Tap the menu (three horizontal lines)
    2. Tap Billing
    3. Tap the gear icon
    4. Tap Cancel Plan
    5. Confirm cancellation
  • If you are moving to a new location or would like to permanently delete your ADT Location:
    1. Tap on the name of your Location
    2. Tap Details
    3. Tap Delete Location
    4. Confirm deletion (IMPORTANT: deleting an ADT Location cannot be undone)

 

2. Delete the Hub from SmartThings

  1. From the Dashboard, tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right
  5. Tap Edit
  6. Tap on the red minus icon next to the ADT Security Hub
  7. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete (IMPORTANT: deleting a Hub cannot be undone)

 

3. Factory reset the panel

  1. Remove the stand on the back of the panel by carefully sliding out the tabs at the top and bottom
  2. If necessary, unscrew the single screw at the bottom of the panel that is holding the back plate in place (Note: the screw cannot be removed from the plastic casing. Do not attempt to force it loose)
  3. Carefully remove the back plate by sliding out the tabs at the top and bottom
  4. Unplug the A/C adaptor
  5. Unplug the backup battery
    1. Locate the three wires (red, black, and white) that lead from the battery to the white wire harness that connects to the green motherboard
    2. Carefully unplug the harness (Note: be sure not to physically remove the wires from the harness)
  6. Reconnect the backup battery
    1. Plug the white harness back into the plug on the motherboard
    2. The black rubber tube should fit snug between the battery and the plug (Note: If you force the back plate closed without fitting the tube in place, you may receive a tamper alert)
  7. Reconnect the A/C adaptor
  8. Once the Home and Emergency buttons start flashing, press and hold until both buttons stop flashing and the screen lights up
  9. Replace the back plate, screw, and stand
  10. Your Hub will now reboot and restore to factory settings

 

The ADT Security Hub panel will display the Welcome message once the reset has succeeded and will be ready to be activated again.

1. Cancel ADT Professional Monitoring Services

In the SmartThings Classic app:

  1. Tap the menu (Android) / More (iOS)
  2. Tap Manage ADT Account
  3. Log in to your ADT account
  • If you'd like to temporarily cancel your Professional Monitoring Service:
    1. Tap the menu (three horizontal lines)
    2. Tap Billing
    3. Tap the gear icon
    4. Tap Cancel Plan
    5. Confirm cancellation
  • If you are moving to a new location or would like to permanently delete your ADT Location:
    1. Tap on the name of your Location
    2. Tap Details
    3. Tap Delete Location
    4. Confirm deletion (IMPORTANT: deleting an ADT Location cannot be undone)

 

2. Delete the Location from SmartThings

  1. Tap the menu (Android) / More (iOS)
  2. Tap the gear icon beside the Location
  3. Tap Remove Location
  4. Tap Delete to confirm (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone)

(Note: If you receive an error while attempting to delete your Location, reach out to our support team for further assistance.)

 

3. Factory reset the panel

  1. Remove the stand on the back of the panel by carefully sliding out the tabs at the top and bottom
  2. If necessary, unscrew the single screw at the bottom of the panel that is holding the back plate in place (Note: the screw cannot be removed from the plastic casing. Do not attempt to force it loose)
  3. Carefully remove the back plate by sliding out the tabs at the top and bottom
  4. Unplug the A/C adaptor
  5. Unplug the backup battery
    1. Locate the three wires (red, black, and white) that lead from the battery to the white wire harness that connects to the green motherboard
    2. Carefully unplug the harness (Note: be sure not to physically remove the wires from the harness)
  6. Reconnect the backup battery
    1. Plug the white harness back into the plug on the motherboard
    2. The black rubber tube should fit snug between the battery and the plug (Note: If you force the back plate closed without fitting the tube in place, you may receive a tamper alert)
  7. Reconnect the A/C adaptor
  8. Once the Home and Emergency buttons start flashing, press and hold until both buttons stop flashing and the screen lights up 
  9. Replace the back plate, screw, and stand
  10. Your Hub will now reboot and restore to factory settings

 

The ADT Security Hub panel will display the Welcome message once the reset has succeeded and will be ready to be activated again.

Get In Touch