SmartThings Support

How do I factory reset the Hub/delete a Location?

To completely redo your SmartThings configuration and start from scratch, you can factory reset your Hub with steps found below.

NOTE: Resetting the Hub will restore factory settings. All device connections, Automations, Scenes, configurations, and SmartApps associated with that Hub will be lost in the reset. All devices connected to your Hub will have to be reset or excluded before they can be reconnected. The steps for resetting and reconnecting each smart device differ. After resetting, you can visit our Things category, find the devices you wish to set up, and follow the guides provided. Remember that you will likely need to reset or “exclude” every device before connecting.

A physical factory reset is only available for the SmartThings Hub and the SmartThings Hub v2 (2015) with firmware 17.11 and up. If you have a Hub v1 or a Hub v2 with firmware below 17.11, you can reset your Hub by deleting the Location it is connected to with these steps instead. Need to check your Hub’s firmware version? Find out how here.

Follow these instructions to reboot the Hub instead, without doing a full factory reset.

 

  • SmartThings Hub (2018)
  • SmartThings Hub v2 (2015)

To factory reset the SmartThings Hub (2018):

  1. Disconnect the power cable from the Hub
  2. Using a pin or a small tool, hold down the reset button on the back of the Hub
  3. While holding down the reset button, reconnect the power cable to the Hub
  4. Continue holding the button for more than 30 seconds
  5. When the LED on the front switches from flashing yellow to solid yellow, release the button
    • Note: If you do not release the button within a few seconds after the LED switches to solid yellow, the Hub may not begin the reset

The Hub will take 10-15 minutes to fully factory reset. Once the LEDs on the Hub turn solid green, you should then be able to connect your Hub again. If you are encountering other problems, these articles may help.

To factory reset the SmartThings Hub v2 (2015):

  1. Make sure the Hub is plugged in with the included power and network cables
  2. Using a pin or a similar tool, hold down the reset button on the back of the Hub for a few seconds until the LED on the front turns off. Momentarily release the button and then hold it down again. When the LED on the front switches from flashing yellow to solid yellow, release the button.
    • Note: If you do not release the button within a few seconds after the LED switches to solid yellow, the Hub may not begin the reset

The Hub will take 10-15 minutes to fully factory reset. Once the LEDs on the Hub turn solid green, you should then be able to connect your Hub again. If you lost your original 6-character Welcome Code or are encountering other problems, these articles may help.

 

  • SmartThings app
  • SmartThings Classic app

To delete a Location and reset the Hub

In the SmartThings mobile app:

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right
  5. Tap Edit
  6. Tap Remove Location
  7. Confirm deletion by tapping Remove (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone)

 

If you are unable to delete the Location after following the above steps, it may be necessary to manually delete all Automations, Scenes, and devices first.

 

1. Remove all Automations

  1. Tap Automations
  2. Tap the three dots in the top right
  3. Tap Delete
  4. Tap All
  5. Tap Delete
  6. Confirm removal

 

2. Remove all Scenes

  1. Tap Devices
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right
  5. Tap Edit
  6. Tap the red minus icon (-) next to the Scene to be deleted
  7. Confirm removal
  8. Repeat for all Scenes

 

3. Remove all Devices

  1. Tap Devices
  2. Tap the three dots in the top right
  3. Tap Edit
  4. Tap the red minus icon (-) next to the name of the device to be deleted
  5. Confirm removal (this cannot be undone)
  6. Repeat for all devices

*Note: In iOS and Android, removal of a Z-Wave device will prompt Z-Wave exclusion. Follow the in-app instructions to reset, or “exclude,” your Z-Wave devices:

  1. The app will show this message: “Please follow the manufacturer’s instructions to remove the Z-Wave device from My SmartThings.” There will also be a spinning circle next to the message “Exclusion Mode Active”
  2. While Exclusion Mode is active, perform the device-specific exclusion confirmation (e.g., a physical button press). You can find instructions for excluding certain compatible Z-Wave devices in the Things category
  3. The app will confirm device exclusion
  4. Tap Done

 

4. Delete the Location

Note: Even after deleting all SmartApps, Routines, and devices, this action may still fail for some users.

  1. Tap on the Devices tab
  2. Tap the Location drop-down menu at the top of the screen
  3. Select your Location
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right
  5. Tap Edit
  6. Tap Remove Location
  7. Confirm deletion by tapping Remove (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone)

 

You should then be able to connect your Hub again.

 

To delete a Location and reset the Hub

In the SmartThings Classic mobile app:

  1. Tap the menu (Android) / More (iOS)
  2. Tap the gear icon beside the Location with the Hub you wish to reset
    • To choose a different Location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the Location
  3. Tap Remove Location
  4. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone)

 

If you are unable to delete the Location after following the above steps, it may be necessary to manually delete all SmartApps, Routines, and devices first.

 

1. Remove all SmartApps

  1. Tap Automations
  2. Tap the SmartApps tab
  3. Select a SmartApp
  4. Tap Remove
  5. Confirm removal
  6. Repeat for all SmartApps

 

2. Remove all Routines

  1. Tap Automations
  2. Tap the Routines tab
  3. Tap the gear icon for a Routine
  4. Scroll down to the bottom
  5. Tap Remove
  6. Confirm removal
  7. Repeat for all Routines

 

3. Remove all Devices

  1. Tap My Home
  2. Tap Things
  3. Select a device
  4. Tap the gear icon
  5. Tap Remove
  6. Confirm removal*
  7. Repeat for all devices

*Note: In iOS and Android, removal of a Z-Wave device will prompt Z-Wave exclusion. Follow the in-app instructions to reset, or “exclude,” your Z-Wave devices:

  1. The app will show this message: “Please follow the manufacturer’s instructions to remove the Z-Wave device from My SmartThings.” There will also be a spinning circle next to the message “Exclusion Mode Active”
  2. While Exclusion Mode is active, perform the device-specific exclusion confirmation (e.g., a physical button press). You can find instructions for excluding certain compatible Z-Wave devices in the Things category
  3. The app will confirm device exclusion
  4. Tap Done

 

4. Delete the Location

Note: Even after deleting all SmartApps, Routines, and devices, this action may still fail for some users.

  1. Tap the menu (Android) / More (iOS)
  2. Tap the gear icon beside the Location you wish to delete
    • To choose a different Location, tap the dropdown arrow and then tap the gear icon for the Location
  3. Tap Remove Location
  4. Confirm deletion by tapping Delete (IMPORTANT: deleting a Location cannot be undone)

 

You should then be able to connect your Hub again.

 

Get In Touch