SmartThings Support

How to configure Zone alerts for the SmartThings Tracker

In the SmartThings app, you can create up to two unique Zones for entry/exit alerts and presence-based automations with your SmartThings Tracker.

Zones are geofences that you can set anywhere that your Tracker visits frequently. Create a Zone for your child's school so you know when they arrive there safely, or create a Zone for your house, so you can turn the lights on automatically when you get home.

 

Create a Zone

To get started, let's create your first Zone. In the SmartThings app:

  1. Touch the Tracker's device card.
  2. Touch the three dots in the top right.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Touch Manage zones.
  5. Touch ADD.
  6. Drag and move the circle to the correct location, enter an address manually, or touch the compass icon to use your phone's current location.
  7. Pinch to zoom the size of the Zone.
  8. Name the Zone.
  9. Touch the color icon to change the color of the Zone.
  10. Touch Enter/leave notifications to configure Zone alerts. You can enable alerts for:
    • Entry/exit.
    • Entry only.
    • Exit only.
    • None.
  11. Touch SAVE to confirm.

 

Create presence-based automations

You can also use your SmartThings Tracker to create presence-based automations, such as turning your lights off and locking your door when you leave the house or playing an audio notification when someone gets home.

To learn how to create presence-based automations using Custom Automations in the SmartThings app, click here.

Note: Presence-based automations with the SmartThings Tracker can only be used with Zones. You cannot use a SmartThings Location's geolocation for presence-based automations with SmartThings Tracker. 

 

Edit or delete an existing Zone

If you need to edit or delete an existing Zone, touch Edit for the specific Zone under Manage zones:

  1. Touch the Tracker's device card.
  2. Touch the three dots in the top right.
  3. Select Settings.
  4. Touch Manage zones.
  5. Touch Edit for the specific Zone to edit it, or touch Delete.
    • Note: Deleting a Zone cannot be undone.

Get In Touch